October 11, 2007

Resident Alien: It Takes a Nation of Suckas to Let Us In

Continuing with obscure Prince Paul productions, this is the never released Resident Alien album It Takes a Nation of Suckas to Let Us In (the picture above is from the single, Mr. Boops). Not a great album, but it has its moments. In searching for the album cover I stumbled upon B-Side Wins Again (excellent blog for 12's) which has the most detailed history of the album I've been able to find:

"The Dew Doo Man was only 20 when Russel Simmons gave him the opportunity to run his own label under the Rush associated Labels umbrella.

Having produced the first De La Soul album, and a couple of hit singles for Third Bass, Nikki D, Queen Latifah, Big Daddy Kane and Groove B Chill Prince Paul was happy being just a producer. It was a better status than just being a DJ in Stetsasonic, that's why he turned down the offer at first. But After Lyor Cohen insisted he gave the idea a second thought and finally agreed to do it.

He took the $50 000 advance, called three friends who really didn't rhyme, and proceed to record his first concept album, called "It Takes A Nation Of Suckas To Let Us In". From day one there was a big gap between what Russel had in mind and what Paul was doing. He had to fight with him to let him called the label Dew Doo Man records. Russel wanted him to make pop hits, and he was making a concept album.

When this 12" came out in november 1991, The Choice Is Yours and Scenario where still on rotation everywhere, so you would think it would have been quite easy to push this record, but Def Jam's staff was busy pushing more traditional stuff like Nice & Smooth or LL Cool J. So Paul decide to come together with Downtown Science and Nikki D to go and talk to Lyor, but none of them show up at the meeting but Paul. The tall Israeli decided he didn't want to be bothered by a&r who cared about music and pull the plug on the Resident Alien project and Dew Doo Man records was no more after only one 12".


thebeathunters said...

god i love the internet! these prince paul's gems are fantastic
thanks for the great job!

thebeathunters said...

btw, do you have a proper tracklist (1,2,3...) cuz itunes puts it by alphabetical order

Henry Krinkle said...

That's strange that iTunes isn't importing the proper tracklist; I had the files fully tagged in iTunes.

In any event, here is the tracklist
1. Intro
2. The Resident Alien
3. I Yam What I Yam
4. The Ox Tail, The Burger & Chic
5. Miss Lee
6. Shakey Ground
7. Ardicle Don
8. Horrorscope
9. Midtro
10. Ooh The Dew Doo Man
11. Mr Boops
12. Alone
13. State Of Emergency
14. Are You Ready
15. We Na Play
16. Wanna Be (Russell)
17. Mother's Day
18. Third World
19. Extro
20. Welcome To America

Glad you're diggin the Prince Paul. If you haven't heard it, don't miss "The Return of the Doo-Dew Man" mix I posted earlier. Enjoy

Anonymous said...

Very nice find, but do you know how to fix the tracklist? >-<

Henry Krinkle said...

I'm not sure what happened with the tracklist on this one. If you are using iTunes it should import properly; if another player I have no idea.